top of page

Seven Wonders

A frigid sensation from the frosty wood floor instantly conquers all past comfort of warmth

My fingertips trace a familiar brick wall as I let each narrow crack guide me through the dimly lit apartment

Anticipation of a hot brewed cup of coffee overshadows my thoughts

I forget about my now numb bare feet as soon as the first sip reaches my lips

A city sleeps as your head rests on a pillow

I don’t mind the indefinite silence as I recharge with the heat radiating from my coffee mug

I hesitate to glance out of the window next to the bed knowing even a slight stream of sunlight might disturb your tranquil inertia

With a steady hand and a craned neck, I peer out of the tiny one bedroom apartment

The rising city mimics the sun

People begin pouring out of the shadows, filling the streets

The sunlight breaks into the apartment, robbing the darkness from unsuspecting victims

Streetlights are no longer needed for traveling citizens

Guided by responsibilities, controlled by devices

White collars and coffee cups

3 floors separate the controlled from the living

Lost in looking, a sigh of relief unexpectedly escapes my lips

I turn to you and your undisturbed mind

dreams float above your head like thought bubbles, not ready to burst

The law of attraction worked its wonders with us

I consciously flip through records, contemplating which would wake you with the most pleasure

I set the needle to the second ridge of Tango in the Night

The small room floods with the unignorable voice of Stevie Nicks

I catch your mouth forming a smirk before you even open your eyes

bottom of page